Remember me? and some eggplant.

Hello Healthy People!

It has been an extraordinary amount of time since I have posted –and for that I am sorry! I sort of took a hiatus to focus on life post grad, love, work, etc etc.  *cue corny love song*

tumblr_mgx2rs89ja1rw0h05o1_500

Good news: In August I moved back to Virginia to live in the DC metro area… surprisingly one of the healthiest and most active populations in the country! I work here now and have a very balanced and happy life.

capitol

But I found I really missed writing so here I am once again.

ALSO I MISSED SHARING RECIPES.

Here is my version of healthy baked eggplant parmesan with fresh basil and sun dried tomatoes.

eggplant

Ingredients: (I prefer organic, but it’s up to you!)

(1) Fresh Eggplant

Fresh Mozzarella (whole –usually it soaks in water to stay fresh)

One Jar of tomato sauce

(2) tomatoes

1/2 a bag of smoked julienne cut sun dried tomatoes

shredded mozzarella

italian breadcrumbs (whole wheat, or you can make your own!)

(1) egg

1 tbsp of milk

flour

fresh ground salt and pepper

olive oil

Fresh Garlic Cloves

fresh basil

splash of water

FYI this recipe might seem like a pain in the glutes but it is SOOOO worth it!!!

How to prepare:

1.) I began by slicing up the eggplant…you want to try to get the slices about 1/4 inch thick and all about the same size so they cook at the same rate.

2.) Then I have two bowls– one filled with a cup of flour, the other filled with an egg wash which is the egg, milk, splash of water to thin it out and then whisked to mix it all together.

3.) Beside the bowls I have a large plate with the italian seasoned bread crumbs and the pepper and salt.

4.) Dip the eggplant into the flour to begin, on both sides.

5.) Next both sides get dipped into the eggwash

6.) The slice is then put on the italian breadcrumbs and flipped so both sides are covered. Then the pepper and salt are ground on top of each side.

7.) The slices are put onto a baking pan and drizzled all over with olive oil –and put into a broiler.

8.) The amount of time you broil or bake the eggplant in the initial process is up to you. It took me about 10 min each side before the eggplant was golden enough for me to finish the prepping. Golden on both sides is the goal–I even prefer a little brown.

9.) During the broiling process I minced garlic, sliced the tomatoes and mozz, and rinsed the basil.

10.) In my baking casserole dish I drizzled tomato sauce into the bottom with some minced garlic.

11.) I took slices of eggplant (about 6) and covered the bottom of the dish. It’s ok if there is glass of the dish showing.

12.) I topped the slices with a spoonful of sauce, a slice of tomato, a slice of mozzarella, some garlic, and another slice of eggplant.

13.) On top of the top layer of eggplant I drizzled tomato sauce, sprinkled the sun dried tomatoes, shredded mozzarella, crushed pepper and salt, and a piece of fresh basil.

14.) I put the rest of the sauce in between the eggplant to serve as a sauce on the side of the dish.

14.) Finally I heat the oven the 400 degrees and cooked the eggplant for about 25-30 minutes covered in foil with the shiny side face down.

Then I cleaned up the tremendous amount of flour all over my nike workout shirt and kitchen floor.

 

photo_5

 

Happy eating and exercising,

XOXO

Jess

Leave a Reply

